Getting started

I am completely new to this product. I am working on a project which involves developing an indoor positioning system for a classroom and my boss wants me to be able to directly communicate with the DW 1000 chip on this device as he says that it is programmable. I wanted to know or at least get some pointers about these things:

1. How to program the DWUSB, what language to use?
  2. Is it possible to do SPI with the DW 1000 chip in order to get range data from it using maybe a Raspberry Pi?
  3. I guess, how to get the raw data from all the sensors?

Thank you, any response appreciated

Hi vmmech,

The DWUSB is mainly designed to be used alongside the CUWB server and is not intended to be used as a USB module for the DW1000 chip.
However, the DWUSB offers the ability to communicate directly with the DW1000 chip over SPI.

The DWUSB is a Ciholas-made hardware that utilizes the DW1000 chip, and uses USB for communication.
The firmware for the DWUSB is written in the C language and the source code for the firmware is not available to the public.

The DWUSB has two operation modes: Normal Mode, which is proprietary to Ciholas, and allows performing two-way ranging and precise location of tags when used in conjunction with the Ciholas CUWB server (all available on the website). To use the CUWB server you can download the binary and documentation from the website. No programming is required. The CUWB server emits the locations of all the tracked tags over ethernet. Those location packets can be used by your own program for your specific implementation.
The second operation mode is Bridge Mode. It gives you raw access to the DW1000 chip’s SPI bus over USB. You can issue SPI commands to the DW1000 by sending USB commands to the DWUSB.

The DWUSB hardware doesn’t expose the SPI pins of the DW1000 chip, so connecting the DW1000 to a Raspberry PI using SPI is not possible.